Professor David Ormerod QC – Chairperson

Professor of Criminal Justice, University College London

Professor David Ormerod QC is the Editor of The Criminal Law Review. He is Professor of Criminal Justice at University College, London, currently on secondment as the Criminal Law Commissioner for England and Wales. He is a Barrister in the Chambers of Max Hill QC at 18 Red Lion Court and a Bencher of Middle Temple. His publications include Smith and Hogan’s Criminal Law (11-14th eds OUP); Fraud: Criminal Law and Procedure (2008) OUP with Clare Montgomery QC; Blackstone’s Criminal Practice (2008-date) (as Editor in Chief); Smith’s Law of Theft (9th edn. 2007) OUP with David Williams QC. He writes and lectures regularly for the Judicial College in England & Wales and for the legal professions. He co-authored the Crown Court Compendium for the Judicial College. He is an Honorary Bencher of the Bar of Northern Ireland and is a member of the Inns of Court College of Advocacy and the Education Committee of the Criminal Bar Association.

The Rt Hon Sir Ian Burnett – Keynote

Lord Chief Justice, of England and Wales

The Rt Hon Sir Ian Burnett has been appointed the Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales from 2 October 2017. Her Majesty The Queen has been pleased to approve the appointment of The Rt Hon Sir Ian Burnett as the Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales from 2 October 2017. This appointment follows the retirement of The Rt Hon The Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd on 1 October 2017.

Sir Ian Burnett was born on 28 February 1958. He was called to the Bar (Middle Temple) in 1980, becoming a Bencher in 2001. He was in practice as a barrister, Temple Garden Chambers, from 1982-2008 (Head of Chambers from 2003-2008). He was Junior Counsel to the Crown, Common Law, 1992-1998 and became Queen’s Counsel in 1998. He was appointed Assistant Recorder, 1998-2000; Recorder, 2000-2008; a Deputy High Court Judge, 2008; Deputy Chamber, Security Vetting Appeals Panel, 2009. He was appointed Judge of the High Court, Queen’s Bench Division, in 2008 and was Presiding Judge on the Western Circuit from 2011-2014. He was appointed to the Court of Appeal on 6 October 2014. He was Vice-Chairman of the Judicial Appointments Commission from 2015-2017.